Advertisement

You will be redirected to the page you want to view in  seconds.

Marco Island Opinion

    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /
    Stefanides and the puppy. Special to the Sun Times

    STRAIGHT TALK: Appreciating the love of a puppy named Maddie

    Over the years on the island I've had the wonderful experience to know many islanders and their pets.

    • Jan. 29, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Merle & Jane Wetzel: We enjoy Stefanides articles

    My wife and I enjoy your articles in the Sun Times. They are timely, informative and very well done. Thanks for your efforts.

    • Jan. 24, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Dean Gaffney: Vacant lot assessments wrong

    (Editorís note: This letter was sent to members of the Marco Island City Council and forwarded to the Sun Times for publication.)

    • Jan. 22, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /
    Steve Stefanides File photo

    STRAIGHT TALK: Professionalism, training and experience at the Marco PD

    For those that have served or are serving in law enforcement, there probably are no two calls that stir the emotions of those professionals more than a call for a child in distress or a man with a gun.

    • Jan. 20, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Russ Colombo: No boat slips for general public at Esplanade

    For some time now, there has been a question regarding The Esplanadeís compliance with the development agreement signed with the city of Marco Island. That agreement required The Esplanade to provide minimally eight boat slips for the general publicís use. Apparently, no such slips are currently provided.

    • Jan. 20, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter to the editor: Councilman Victor Rios' comments should be welcomed

    After reading the article published Jan. 8, Straight Talk, I decided to go to the city web site and review the comments made in the article attacking a council member on his presentation opposing an increase in salary for the city manager.

    • Jan. 17, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /
    Steve Stefanides File photo

    Rentals: A tale of 2 cities

    During my career, I was blessed with the opportunity to travel extensively not only here in the U.S., but internationally. While overseas, I would try to tune in to the BBC on TV and the radio for the news of the day.

    • Jan. 15, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Larry Honig: Questions have answers

    Iíd like to take this opportunity to address some assertions that have been made about the city council process as well as the discussion surrounding our review in the Jan. 5 meeting of the city managerís performance, at which time he also received a salary increase after one year on the job. You can make up your own mind after reading the facts, rather than just the assertions. Iíll combine and paraphrase the questions for simplicity.

    • Jan. 14, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from David W. Fieselman: Councilman Victor Rios raises questions that need answers

    I have watched the video of controversial Jan. 5 Marco Island City Council meeting three times. Councilman Victor Rios is to be congratulated for his willingness to raise some serious questions that demand answers.

    • Jan. 13, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from James Funk: What's wrong with councilman telling it like it is?

    Since Marco Island was incorporated as a city in 1997, I have seen city councilors, and the city manager praise one another on the great job they have done in meeting the difficult challenges city government must face.

    • Jan. 12, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Suzanne Piro: Appalled by lack of professionalism at Marco city council meeting

    I am truly appalled at the lack of professionalism that was so oblivious during the last Marco Island City Council meeting.

    • Jan. 9, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /
    Steve Stefanides File photo

    STRAIGHT TALK: City Manager confronts problems with unwavering, dogged determination

    Marco Island City Manager Roger Hernstadt honed his political skills for more than 30 years in probably one of the most challenging environments for professionals working in government service.

    • Jan. 7, 2015
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Commentary by Sayre Uhler: A dozen resolutions to re-establish Marco's exceptional legacy

    The New Year 2015 marks the beginning of the third decade for Marco Island as an independent city with its own municipal charter and publicly elected council members.

    • Jan. 6, 2015

Local Deals

Flip, shop and save on specials from your favorite retailers on Marco Island

GET DEALS NOW

Marco beach cam

RESTAURANTS

Find local restaurants, read
and submit reviews

Celebrating the best of South Lee and North Naples

READ MORE

Reader Photos

Get the Hurricane Hub app

DealChicken.com

Sign up to save 50-90% off SWFL dining, shopping, spas, activities and more. Every day.