Advertisement

You will be redirected to the page you want to view in  seconds.

Marco Island Opinion

    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /
    Steve Stefanides File photo

    Giving thanks for bounty of this town, country

    It was 393 years ago that the original colonist celebrated the first harvest of bounty that would carry them through the challenges of a winter here in the new world.

    • Nov. 26, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Larry Honig: City has debt plan

    I don't think it's a good idea that inaccurate notions of what the city manager and the city council have done are allowed to linger in print. Some people who read them might think they're true.

    • Nov. 25, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Guest commentary by Bill Harris: Rebuttal to city manager's 'lowest taxes' column

    This is a guest commentary rebuttal to the 'Marco Island's city taxes are lowest in the state' article written by Marco Island's City Manager. I take issue with his opinion that I misstated 'facts' to mislead the public.

    • Nov. 23, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /
    Steve Stefanides File photo

    Straight Talk: Following charter ensures transparency in city government

    About 17 years ago, islanders made the choice to control their own destiny from this side of the bridge and incorporated as the city of Marco Island.

    • Nov. 20, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /
    Steve Stefanides File photo

    Straight Talk: Questions raised about city staff charity contributions

    Monday's Marco Island City Council meeting should have been one of celebrating the seating of a new set of community leaders, and at the outset it was just that, with smiles and congratulations all around, in addition to a little cake and coffee after Col

    • Nov. 16, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Bill Harris: Flush out the majority on city council

    Congratulations to Victor Rios, Joe Batte and Bob Brown on winning the Marco Island City Council elections.

    • Nov. 11, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /
    Steve Stefanides File photo

    Straight Talk: Gift of friendship

    Over the last three weeks, I've been required to do some extensive travel in the northeast as part of some of my responsibilities for a company I do some work for. The trip ended up being as much a personal voyage for me as it did a business one.

    • Nov. 3, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Bill Harris: Marco police should be impartial with campaign sign violations

    Like most cities, Marco Island has ordinances governing where, when and how you can display political signs. Some of those rules, including Section 530-527(17), prohibit mounting political signs on vehicles, whether parked or being driven.

    • Nov. 1, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /
    Steve Stefanides File photo

    Straight Talk: Proud of the right to vote

    Next Tuesday, Marco Islanders along with their counterparts throughout the state and the nation will exercise a right that is still denied to many around the globe.

    • Oct. 29, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Craig R. Woodward: Litha Berger will be asset to city council

    I have known Litha Berger since 2002 when I worked with her on a continuing care facility that was proposed by one of my clients for Marco Island.

    • Oct. 27, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Jane Morra: Victor Rios fully engaged on all issues

    Victor Rios is the promise of a bright future for Marco Island.

    • Oct. 27, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Joan Myers: Woman's point of view missing on Marco Island City Council

    Have you noticed something missing on the Marco Island City Council? I have, itís called a womanís point of view. Luckily, that issue can finally be resolved. Vote Litha Berger for city council.

    • Oct. 24, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Nancy & Dusty Rhodes: Elect Litha Berger to council

    On Nov. 4, we will have the opportunity, as registered voters on Marco Island, to vote for a highly qualified local leader to be a new member of our Marco Island City Council.

    • Oct. 24, 2014
    • MARCO ISLAND OPINION /

    Letter from Russ Colombo: Unforgivable response

    It's saddening when a loyal American borrows a page out of 'Rules for Radicals 101,' writes a letter to the editor, and tries to defame a dissenter personally instead of discussing the issue intelligently.

    • Oct. 23, 2014

Local Deals

Flip, shop and save on specials from your favorite retailers on Marco Island

GET DEALS NOW

Marco beach cam

RESTAURANTS

Find local restaurants, read
and submit reviews

Celebrating the best of South Lee and North Naples

READ MORE

Reader Photos

Get the Hurricane Hub app

DealChicken.com

Sign up to save 50-90% off SWFL dining, shopping, spas, activities and more. Every day.